The Power of Promotion

As every writer knows, there is a great deal of promotion that is necessary in the course of a writing career. In fact, I think there have actually been occasions when I have spent more time promoting my books than writing them!

In addition to the numerous media that can be used for the process, the workload obviously swells when there are more pieces to promote. Ah, who’d be a writer! Can’t say it’s my favourite thing in the world to do, in fact, it doesn’t come close, but it has to be done.

Yes, it is a necessary evil in the world of writing, whether competing for readers to buy books already written or for the attention of companies looking to hire writers. It all helps to promote yourself and your wares and, hopefully, gain interest from those who may not have known you existed. And that can never be bad.

To this end, I have been blogging all over the place and-ahem-neglecting my own blog in the process. Consider my wrist slapped! Fortunately, there are plenty of other locations in which I will be popping up, offering my opinion (worth precisely two pence) or undertaking some straightforward promotion.

Today, for example, Tina Donahue has kindly hosted me on her blog where I’m discussing age difference and also offering a chance to win an ebook copy of my latest release Art of the Written Word!

I’ll then be hosted by Whipped Cream on 9 May, Night Owl Romance on 18 May and my regular slot on Hitting the Hot-Spot on 27 May. Phew! Not quite a blog tour, but maybe just a warm up to one.

As long as the books keep coming, there’ll always be time for more!

2 Comments

  1. Wonderful and informative blog. I saw you at Tina’s place, too. Promo is the necessary evil. I wish you all the best.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • The cost of subscribing for regular updates? One email address.

    Join 47 other followers

  • Hotness of the month

    Hotness of the month
  • Whipped Cream Reviews